Journey’s End for Different Strokes

Oil stick study by Lindsay Olsen
Oil stick study by Lindsay Olsen

My sketchbook squeezed through the door well after dark on New Year’s Eve – I think the postman made a special trip.  It came complete with chocolates and two beautiful oil stick paintings of her beloved Lake Michigan by Lindsay.

Lake Michigan near Holland, Michigan
Lake Michigan near Holland, Michigan

Thank you Lindsay, these are pulsating with beautiful colours and I love the long narrow format.

Now all that remains is for me to wait for a day with enough colour temperature to photograph the entire book and create a slideshow.  Over.  Sigh!

7 thoughts on “Journey’s End for Different Strokes”

  1. I’m so glad to see some artwork posted here again…it feels very sad when its so quiet!
    Beautiful work Lindsay! they have botht so much atmosphere in the skies!! I envy that touch of your with oil sticks.
    And now I’m looking forward to see your whole book Robyn…you can come oveer today if you’re looking for sunshine to photograph – we have very cold, but sunny day!
    Ronell

  2. I’ve been following these wonderful sketchbooks as you all were doing them through Robyn’s blog. What a wonderful way of sharing art. I’ll be back to see the slideshow of this final sketchbook…the slideshows are so great! Thanks for sharing them that way.

  3. Wow, I forgot how punchy my colors were when I did this. My low key watercolors lately are so very different! It make my fingers itch to pick up an oil bar.

    Sigh, so sad this project is over. I’ll wait until the final post by Robyn to officially close the group. I was really worried that Robyn’s book got lost as I mailed it December 12. PHEW!

    I can hardly wait to see the whole thing. Is this the last book in our rotation?

Leave a Reply

